“THE NEXT BIG THING” AWARD

Thank you so much to Ellie Carstens for this nomination!

the-next-big-thing1

WHAT IS THE TITLE OF YOUR BOOK?

Journey of the Kings

WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?

Science Fiction/Thriller – great for sci-fi nuts and young adult/new adult audiences

WHAT IS THE ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?

A story of redemption for a father as he and his son discover a deadly betrayal.

WHERE DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR BOOK?

Honestly, I have recently been engrossed in James Bond books and the Ender’s Game series. This book blends the two with ideas that are very personal to me.

WHO OR WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS BOOK?

Hugh Howey is a huge inspiration for me. I’ve had these ideas in my head for a while but I always figured that I would never get through a publisher. Now I’m going to try my best with self-publishing.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE FIRST DRAFT OF YOUR MANUSCRIPT?

First draft took me 18 days to get completed. The other drafts….well, I’ll let ya know.

WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY WITH IN YOUR GENRE?

Ender’s Game and Earth Unaware by Orson Scott Card and Colony by Scott Reeves

WHAT ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY  YOUR CHARACTERS IN A MOVIE RENDITION?

Seth Morning – Chris Pine     Seth 1

Benjamin Allen – Aramis Knight     Aramis-Knight_406

WILL YOU BOOK BE SELF-PUBLISHED OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENCY?

Self-published

WHAT ELSE ABOUT YOUR BOOK MIGHT PIQUE YOUR READERS’ INTEREST?

This is a story about space colonization, but with a much more personal arc. The main character is battling decisions he made many years prior to the book and much of that has to do with his son, who is on the journey with him. The story is a thriller on the outside, but one of forgiveness and redemption on the inside.

MY NOMINATIONS ARE…

I don’t have a huge indie author base of friends yet, but here are a few.

David Eccles, my new friend from overseas.

Jaclyn Lyons

About Allen Watson

I've finally decided to write out the stories in my head. Reading has always been a passion of mine, but now I want to get my own book out there. Bachelor's Degree in Political Science Master's Degree in Teaching View all posts by Allen Watson

Leave a Reply

