My Review of “Longevity” by S.J. Hunter

51QXd9W9iCL

Longevity perked my interest because of my minimal background in law enforcement. In fact, the first page really had me interested. Chris, the main character, is about to run into a burning building and says, “I’m responsible for anything that might be lying around intact enough to tell us if there is a ‘why,’ even if it hasn’t happened yet.” My first thoughts went to Minority Report, so I decided I had to keep reading.

Longevity is set about a hundred years from now and early on in the book we can see that something has radically altered how humans live. Turns out, we have discovered how to stop aging, at least as far as our looks and health are concerned. People still count their chronological age, but continue to look and feel like they did at whatever age they were when they began their “resets.” The problem, and the main focus of the book, is the Laws surrounding the process. Apparently it was decided early on that there had to be set limits to how many times a person could reset themselves before they eventually had to age normally. Making the choice to have children also lowered the amount of years you could have as well.

As would be expected in such a situation, some of the wealthy people in the world would be able to afford to live indefinitely, and think that they should have the right to do so. Most rational people know that this would lead to a very privileged society and that those people would pretty much become the world leaders – and stay that way. It really paralleled some future version of what we see in society today – the wealthy get whatever they want at the expense of everyone else.

Chris has worked in Longevity Law Enforcement (tasked with enforcing the longevity laws) since its inception (he’s been on the job for eighty years or so) and does not particularly like having partners. Unfortunately for him, Livvy transfers into the department just to learn from him. Her background in tactical and homicide is very different from LLE and she has some issues adjusting to Chris’s style as a partner.

Both Chris and Livvy are thrust into a case dealing with an old nemesis and that is when the book really takes off. From the moment they realize who is involved, they are continually chased by the bad guy and every time I turned the page I was waiting for gunshots. It was fast paced, and took place over the course of only a few days.

The concepts Longevity brings up may seem to be far-fetched, but with the way medical science is progressing, it is only a matter of time until something similar happens. Heck, plastic surgery and pharmaceuticals do a decent job of making the rich look younger. I can definitely see Hunter’s vision here, and I hope he takes it farther. I love dystopian books, and I could see him taking this story that route.

The only issues I have with this book are relative minor. Hunter’s paragraph structure was odd for me, but I recognize that every author has a different writing style, so I didn’t care. Also, there was a lot of repetition of the concepts surrounding the law enforcement methods and a few other things. Truth be told, this may come in handy for some readers who have a hard time picking up on some of the concepts, but I understood after the first few times. By no means should either of those things keep you from buying a copy of this book. It is good and is another example of why I love self-publishing. In fact, I already bought the second book in the series!

Check out the book here

About Allen Watson

I've finally decided to write out the stories in my head. Reading has always been a passion of mine, but now I want to get my own book out there. Bachelor's Degree in Political Science Master's Degree in Teaching View all posts by Allen Watson

3 responses to “My Review of “Longevity” by S.J. Hunter

Leave a Reply

